Remembering Ki’tay Davidson

Although I have returned from my trip to Guatemala a more than one month ago, mentally, my time there feels much more distant. Caught up in my hectic life, I truly have to pause and really think deeply to summon the memories of a simpler, special time. Yet, when I was there, I had many moments where I found myself wishing I could be back in the United States.

My attention was mostly straying to the political–wishing I could participate in protests against the lack of indictment for Daniel Pantaleo, the officer responsible for killing Eric Garner, actions demanding justice for the 43 students murdered in Ayotzinapa, Mexico, and especially in actions that linked these two tragedies together due to their state-sponsored violence.

My feelings of homesickness shifted from the political to the personal when I learned that Ki’tay Davis had passed away. Ki’tay was someone I admired from afar at disability rights events, and looked forward to getting to know better this year. I am so saddened that I will not have the opportunity to do so.

Reading Ki’tay’s post on Black Girl Dangerous “Angry About the White Lesbians Suing For Having A Black Child? You’re Missing Something” and Lydia Brown’s heartfelt tribute to “one of the most awesome people who ever happened to me” on Autistic HoyaI so appreciate his talents at effectively advocating for justice with people at the intersections of race, sexuality, and disability. I want to express most sincere, albeit far too belated, condolences to his loved ones for an awesome person who I wish had happened to more of us.

 

Leave a Reply

